General News » News

Aurora Sports Hall of Fame announces Class of 2021

June 24, 2021   ·   0 Comments

The Aurora Sports Hall of Fame has unveiled its Class of 2021.

The inductees – Steve Vickers, Lois Thompson, Colin Graham, and the late Brendan Macken – were announced Tuesday night at Council, honouring their “exceptional achievement in sport.”

Their individual nominations proposed to the Aurora Sports Hall of Fame left no doubts and it was a sure-fire decision for these four individuals to be selected.

Steve “The Sarge” Vickers, the long-time Aurora resident spent 10 years in the NHL, all with the New York Rangers.

Vickers, who was selected 10th overall in the 1971 NHL Entry Draft, won the Calder Memorial Trophy in his first season in the NHL potting in 30 goals and 23 assists.

“One of the things I came across in the nomination is he is the only New York Ranger to score a hat trick in two consecutive games and he did it as a rookie,” said Stephen Forsey, Chairman of the Aurora Sports Hall of Fame.

In his first four seasons, he scored over 30 goals consecutively. The best season of his career came in 1974-75, when he recorded 41 goals and 48 assists.

Lois Thompson has been a volunteer in the community for 40 years and recently in the past few years was awarded the Town of Aurora Volunteer Service Award.

“That’s significant. Just a tremendous, humble, unassuming person. She’s in this for all the right reasons,” Forsey said.

Thompson was heavily involved in girls’ softball for 25 years, and Forsey says it is believed she helped start the Aurora Diggers house league program.

Involved in Aurora Minor Hockey, and having served as President of Aurora Minor Lacrosse, Colin Graham was given the nod for his tremendous efforts in the community.

“The Town back in 1985 awarded him the Bob Harman Award for local sports and volunteerism and leadership,” Forsey said.

He is also remembered for his sports show on local television.

Back when Aurora had their own cable television station, Graham was the co-host of Aurora Sports Beat with Lowell McClenny for 25 years.

McClenny is an honoured member of the hall as well.

Finally, the late Brendan Macken has been honoured for his prestigious tennis history.

Macken was renowned as an incredible tennis player. He was named the Canadian Singles Champion in 1950. He was also Canada’s top ranked tennis player in 1946, 1948, 1950 and 1952.

He was elected to Canadian Tennis Hall of Fame in 1981.

Forsey said his family was incredibly touched that he will be recognized and inducted as an athlete into the hall of fame.

“We’re so excited for all of our inductees and look forward to celebrating this honour with them, their family and friends,” said Hall of Fame president Javed Khan.

“It’s been a challenging time for the hall and we’re so excited to be back with the announcement of the 2021 class of inductees and the Induction Celebration Dinner. We’re looking forward to having everyone join us in celebrating the great accomplishments of the inductees.”

By Robert Belardi



Readers Comments (0)

You must be logged in to post a comment.

Page Reader Press Enter to Read Page Content Out Loud Press Enter to Pause or Restart Reading Page Content Out Loud Press Enter to Stop Reading Page Content Out Loud Screen Reader Support