Optimist Club of Aurora Scholarships awarded to Five Aurora Students

On behalf of the Newmarket Voice Festival Committee, I would like to extend our sincere thanks and appreciation to all of our programme sponsors and scholarship donors for their support.

Our 2014 Concert of the Stars held on November 14 was a resounding success!

This year, again, the Optimist Club of Aurora, in keeping with their mandate as ?Friend of Youth?, made a very generous scholarship donation to the Festival.

At the request of the Optimist Club, the scholarships were awarded to outstanding participants in the Festival, who are residents of Aurora

To be noted is the fact that all winners in this Festival are chosen by the Adjudicators, with particular attention paid to the requests of the scholarship donors.

The five Aurora scholarship winners are as follows:

Musical Theatre Singers with Promise? Joshua Snow, Stephane Arcand, Allyson Whitmell, Jaime Woodward and Noelle Kashtelyan. In particular, I would also like to recognize the support of MP Lois Brown, Mayor of Newmarket Tony van Bynen and the ladies of Beta Sigma Phi Alpha Omicron Master Chapter of Aurora.

Your contributions are very much appreciated.

Irene Ilic, Festival Director and all committee members, look forward to celebrating our 20th Festival in November 2015. Without generous donations from individuals and our corporate donors, we would not be able to recognize the outstanding talent that have inspired these singers to continue with their musical studies.

Rosalyn A. Gonsalves Aurora