Commission finalizes Federal boundary change

October 3, 2013   ·   0 Comments

By Brock Weir

Aurora’s federal electoral boundaries will officially split in time for the next Federal election.

Proposals to split Aurora’s federal riding at Wellington Street have been finalized by the standing committee established to review electoral boundary distribution, despite objections from the Town’s federal, provincial, and municipal representatives, as well as the public at large.

Aurora north of Wellington Street will now vote for their MP as part of a reconfigured Newmarket-Aurora, which will also include the Town of Newmarket in its entirety.

Those living on the south side of Wellington Street and beyond will now be part of the new Aurora-Oak Ridges-Richmond Hill riding. This riding will include not only all of Aurora south of Wellington, but much of northwestern Richmond Hill, with Major Mackenzie Drive at its most southerly point.

The new riding was originally slated to be called simply “Aurora-Richmond Hill”, but was changed to reflect the Oak Ridges community at the request of MP Costas Menegakis who argued the name should be included to reflect geographic and historical “realities”, as well as a distinct identity.

“[Menegakis] objected to the name,” said Justice George Valin in his final report. “He argued that the Oak Ridges community should be included in the name of that electoral district to reflect geographic and historical realities, as well as to assert its unique and distinct identity. The Standing Committee supported the objection”

For more information on boundaries, including maps and where other changes are taking place across Ontario, visit



Readers Comments (0)

You must be logged in to post a comment.

Page Reader Press Enter to Read Page Content Out Loud Press Enter to Pause or Restart Reading Page Content Out Loud Press Enter to Stop Reading Page Content Out Loud Screen Reader Support