Barbarians name annual award winners

By Jake Courtepatte

The Aurora Barbarians Rugby Club honoured some familiar faces, along with some new ones, with the organization's annual bevy of awards last weekend.

Longtime Barbarian Tim Brochu took home the Bob Martin President's Award, given annually to a member that has made great contributions to the club outside of a playing capacity. Brochu has been involved with the organization since 2009, with three children who have worn the Barbarian kit. He now serves as vice president of the Barbarians.

A name synonymous with experience within the club is Marco Di Girolamo, named the 2015 Men's Most Valuable Player. A legend in Canadian Sevens rugby, Di Girolamo has served as captain of the Canadian Men's Sevens team, capping at the provincial and national level many times while remaining faithful to his club team of Aurora throughout his career.

Inducted into the first class of the club's Hall of Fame in 2014, Di Girolamo is no stranger to his club's awards ceremony. He also took home MVP honours in 2013, the President's Award in 2012, and the James Green Award for perseverance and sportsmanship in 2010.

This year's James Green Award went to Peter Busciglio.

On the women's side, Mackenzie Higgs was honoured as the club's Most Valuable Player, having represented the Barbs as both a member of the senior national 15s team and Rugby Ontario this year. She was one of six Barbs to lead the Ontario Storm to the National Women's League Cup in Ottawa.

Hooker/flanker Andrew Quattrin was a force to be reckoned with in his first year suiting up for the Aurora men's squad, winning rookie honours.

Joining the Barbs after a stellar youth career, he has been named an OUA all-star in both seasons as a Wilfrid Laurier Golden Hawk, and represented Canada internationally in Romania at the U-18 level.

Loren Baldwin was Rookie of the Year on the women's side, having joined Higgs, captain Tyson Beukeboom, and a handful of other Barbs on the Ontario Storm in only her first year of senior rugby.

For his valuable contributions to the club, Ryan Stickle was awarded the Doug Heaton award for 2015. As coach of the U-18 men's team, the senior men's team, as well as experience as the St. Maximilian Kolbe junior coach, Stickle has had his hands in rugby for over 20 years. In 2013, he led the U-18 squad to their first Ontario championship since 2002.

A number of junior-level awards have also been announced. For a full list, visit www.aurorabarbarians.com.