## Aurora goes PC, electing Elliott & Parsa to Queen's Park

## By Brock Weir

Aurora will be represented by two Progressive Conservative MPPs for the next four years following Thursday night's Provincial election.

Former Whitby MPP Christine Elliott won the riding of Newmarket-Aurora with 47.34 per cent of the vote, bumping incumbent Liberal MPP Chris Ballard, Minister of the Environment, into third place.

Ms. Elliott secured 23,329 votes, a margin of 11,561 votes against second place finisher Melissa Williams, who received 11,768 votes.

Mr. Ballard was just behind with 11,336 votes, and the ballots were rounded out by Michelle Bourdeau of the Green Party, independent Dorian Baxter, Trillium Party leader Bob Yaciuk, Libertarian Lori Robbins, Denis Van Decker of the None of the Above Party, and Ontario Moderate Denis Gorlynskiy.

?We are going to lead Ontario to the place where we belong, a place of opportunity, of jobs, of prosperity, a place of compassion for everybody, of every background, and for every walk of life; a place of hope where our young people can find jobs ? good, better jobs ? right here at home in Ontario and where all of us can fulfil our dreams,? Ms. Elliott told supporters. ?With your help today, we have returned Ontario to the people.?

In Aurora-Oak Ridges-Richmond Hill, PC candidate Michael Parsa handily won with 56% of the vote.

He secured the riding with 25,214 votes, a 15,426 vote margin over second place finisher Naheed Yaqubian of the Liberal party, who had 9,718 votes cast in her favour. She was followed in third place by Katrina Sale of the NDP with 8,118 votes. Rounding out the results were Serge Korovitsyn of the Liberarian Party, Santiago Amesh Desilva of the None of the Above Direct Democracy Party, Margarita Barksy of the Ontario Moderate Party, Janusz Butlykin of the Freedom Party and Abu Alam of the SRP. For full election coverage, see Pages 14-17 of this week's Auroran.