Newmarket-Aurora NDP name candidate

February 18, 2015   ·   0 Comments

By Brock Weir

As Canada gears up for a Federal election by this fall, Newmarket-Aurora members of the New Democratic Party of Canada have selected Yvonne Kelly to carry their banner.

Yvonne Kelly

Yvonne Kelly

Ms. Kelly, a community resource facilitator with the York Region School Board, and active community advocate, was officially nominated on Thursday.
Ms. Kelly was hailed for her “commitment to economic fairness, inclusivity and social justice” through her work with the Board as well as her involvement in campaigns “challenging the harmful effects of austerity and income inequality, such as the Raise the Minimum Wage Campaign and the Ontario Common Front, where she sits on steering committees.”

With a Federal election widely expected this fall, the dance card for Aurora voters is filling up fast.

This election will see the current electoral riding of Newmarket-Aurora splitting in two. Aurora lying on the north side of Wellington Street will vote as constituents of the reconfigured riding of Newmarket-Aurora, while those residents living on the south side of Wellington Street will vote in the newly created riding of Aurora-Oak Ridges-Richmond Hill.

In Newmarket-Aurora, incumbent MP Lois Brown was acclaimed as the Conservative Party’s candidate, while Kyle Peterson was selected as the Liberal candidate. The duo faced off in the last Federal election.

In Aurora-Oak Ridges-Richmond Hill, incumbent Richmond Hill MP Costas Menegakis will lead the Conservatives, while Leona Alleslev will represent the Liberal Party.



Readers Comments (0)

You must be logged in to post a comment.

Page Reader Press Enter to Read Page Content Out Loud Press Enter to Pause or Restart Reading Page Content Out Loud Press Enter to Stop Reading Page Content Out Loud Screen Reader Support